Catalog

This version of the public catalog is retiring at the end of August 2023. Current lists can be imported into the new catalog.
Patrons keeping reading histories will need to download their Checkout History. Learn how to manage reading history and lists.

Record Details

Catalog Search


Search Results Showing Item 1 of 1

The divorcées

Image of item
Book

First edition.

"For fans of Beautiful Ruins and Lessons in Chemistry, a novel set at a 1950s Reno "divorce ranch," about the complex friendship between two women who dare to imagine a different future "A delicious literary page-turner from a fierce new voice." -Rebecca Makkai. Lois Saunders thought that marrying the right man would finally cure her loneliness. But as picture-perfect as her husband is, she is suffocating in their loveless marriage. In 1951, though, unhappiness is hardly grounds for divorce--except in Reno, Nevada. At the Golden Yarrow, the most respectable of Reno's famous "divorce ranches," Lois finds herself living with half a dozen other would-be divorcees, all in Reno for the six weeks' residency that is the state's only divorce requirement. They spend their days riding horses and their nights flirting with cowboys, and it's as wild and fun as Lake Forest, Illinois, is prim and stifling. But it isn't until Greer Lang arrives that Lois's world truly cracks open. Gorgeous, beguiling, and completely indifferent to societal convention, Greer is unlike anyone Lois has ever met--and she sees something in Lois that no one else ever has. Under her influence, Lois begins to push against the limits that have always restrained her. But how much can she really trust her mysterious new friend? And how far will she go to forge her independence, on her own terms? Set in the glamorous, dizzying world of 1950s Reno, where housewives and movie stars rubbed shoulders at gin-soaked casinos, The Divorcees is a riveting page-turner and a dazzling exploration of female friendship, desire, and freedom"--

Available copies

  • 9 of 23 copies available at Westchester Library System.

Current holds

2 current holds with 23 total copies.
Location Call Number /
Shelving Location
Barcode Status /
Due Date
Ardsley Public Library FICTION BEAIRD (Text)
New Fiction
31000151338731
Available
-
Bedford Hills Free Library BEAIRD (Text)
New Fiction
31003151462915
Available
-
Chappaqua Library FICTION BEAIRD (Text)
New Fiction
31005153431525
Checked out
07/05/2024
Croton Free Library FICTION/BEAIRD (Text)
New Fiction
31006151964624
Checked out
07/26/2024
Eastchester Public Library FICTION BEAIRD (Text)
New Fiction
31008152588113
Checked out
07/24/2024
Greenburgh Public Library BEAIRD (Text)
New Fiction
31009155100302
In transit
-
Hastings-on-Hudson Public Library FICTION BEAIRD (Text)
New Book
31011151460193
Checked out
08/03/2024
John C. Hart Memorial Library BEAIRD (Text)
New Fiction
31030300045234
Checked out
07/24/2024
Mount Kisco Public Library FICTION BEAIRD (Text)
Fiction
31017152034655
On holds shelf
-
Mount Pleasant Public Library FIC BEAIRD (Text)
New Book
31024153444180
Available
-
Next 10 »
Search Results Showing Item 1 of 1

Additional Resources