Catalog

This version of the public catalog is retiring at the end of August 2023. Current lists can be imported into the new catalog.
Patrons keeping reading histories will need to download their Checkout History. Learn how to manage reading history and lists.

Record Details

Catalog Search



Medea

Image of item
Book

First Atria Books hardcover edition.

"Discover the full story of the sorceress Medea, one of the most reviled and maligned women of Greek antiquity, in this propulsive and evocative debut in the tradition of Circe, Elektra, and Stone Blind. Among the women of Greek mythology, the witch Medeamay be the most despised. Known for the brutal act of killing her own children to exact vengeance on her deceitful husband, the Argonauts leader Jason, Medea has carved out a singularly infamous niche in our histories. But what if that isn't the full story? The daughter of a sea nymph and the granddaughter of a Titan, Medea is a paradox. She is at once rendered compelling by virtue of the divinity that flows through her bloodline and made powerless by the fact of her being a woman. As a child, she intuitively submerges herself in witchcraft and sorcery, but soon finds it may not be a match for the prophecies that hang over her entire family like a shroud. As Medea comes into her own as a woman and a witch, she also faces the arrival of the hero Jason, preordained by the gods to be not only her husband, but also her lifeline to escape her isolated existence. Medea travels the treacherous seas with the Argonauts, battles demons she had never conceived of, and falls in love with the man who may ultimately be her downfall. In this propulsive, beautifully written debut, readers will finally hear Medea's side of the story through a fresh and feminist lens"--

Available copies

  • 3 of 6 copies available at Westchester Library System.

Current holds

1 current hold with 6 total copies.
Location Call Number /
Shelving Location
Barcode Status /
Due Date
Croton Free Library FICTION/QUIN (Text)
New Fiction
31006151999257
Checked out
03/08/2024
Harrison Public Library QUIN, E. (Text)
New Fiction
31010300341007
Checked out
03/03/2024
New Rochelle Public Library QUIN (Text)
New Fiction
31019156987607
Available
-
Ossining Public Library FICTION (Text)
New Book
31021101970589
Available
-
Rye Free Reading Room FICTION QUIN (Text)
New Fiction
31028153526268
Available
-
Yonkers Grinton I. Will Library FIC Quin (Text)
New Fiction
31035710090605
Checked out
03/03/2024

Additional Resources