Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search


Search Results Showing Item 1 of 979

The parted earth

Image of item
Book
"Spanning more than half a century and cities from New Delhi to Atlanta, Anjali Enjeti's debut is a heartfelt and human portrait of the long shadow of the Partition of the Indian subcontinent on the lives of three generations. The story begins in August 1947. Unrest plagues the streets of New Delhi leading up to the birth of the Muslim majority nation of Pakistan, and the Hindu majority nation of India. Sixteen-year-old Deepa navigates the changing politics of her home, finding solace in messages of intricate origami from her secret boyfriend Amir. Soon Amir flees with his family to Pakistan and a tragedy forces Deepa to leave the subcontinent forever. The story also begins nearly seven decades later and half a world away, in Atlanta. While grieving botha pregnancy loss and the implosion of her marriage, Deepa's granddaughter Shan begins the search for her estranged grandmother, a prickly woman who had no interest in knowing her. When she begins to piece together her family history shattered by the Partition, Shan discovers how little she actually knows about her ancestors and what they endured. For readers of Jess Walter's Beautiful Ruins and Min Jin Lee's Pachinko, The Parted Earth follows characters on their search for identity after loss uproots their lives. Above all, it is a novel about families weathering the lasting violence of separation, and how it can often take a lifetime to find unity and peace"--

Available copies

  • 8 of 8 copies available at Westchester Library System.

Current holds

0 current holds with 8 total copies.
Location Call Number /
Shelving Location
Barcode Status /
Due Date
Greenburgh Public Library FICTION ENJETI (Text)
Fiction
31009154811099
Available
-
Mount Kisco Public Library FICTION ENJETI (Text)
Fiction
31017151950190
Available
-
New Rochelle Public Library ENJETI (Text)
Fiction
31019156720602
Available
-
Ossining Public Library FICTION (Text)
Fiction
31021101899457
Available
-
Rye Osborn Branch Library FIC ENJ 3000 (Text)
Fiction
31028200085912
Available
-
White Plains Public Library FICTION (Text)
Fiction
31544101231728
Available
-
Yonkers Grinton I. Will Library FIC Enjeti (Text)
Fiction
31035604043744
Available
-
Yonkers Riverfront Library FIC Enjeti (Text)
Fiction
31035600046956
Available
-
Search Results Showing Item 1 of 979

Additional Resources