Catalog

WLS libraries are returning to regular hold-filling. Materials are available from most libraries. Please contact your local library and your pickup library for information about current services, pickup options, and hours. For more information about WLS' continued pandemic response and how this impacts library patrons, please click here.

Record Details

Catalog Search


Search Results Showing Item 1 of 69

The red daughter : a novel

Image of item
Book

First edition.

"Running from her father's brutal legacy, Joseph Stalin's daughter defects to the United States against the turbulence of the 1960s. For fans of We Were the Lucky Ones and A Gentleman in Moscow, this sweeping historical novel is inspired by the true story of Svetlana Alliluyeva. In one of the most momentous events of the Cold War, Svetlana Allilyueva, the forty-one-year-old daughter of the notorious tyrannical leader of the USSR, abruptly abandoned her life in Moscow in 1967, arriving in New York to throngs of reporters and a nation hungry to hear her story. By her side is Peter Horvath, a lawyer in his mid-thirties who is sent by the CIA to escort Svetlana to America. Rootless, lonely, and bewildered by her adopted country's radically different society, Svetlana takes refuge in Arizona with the widow of architect Frank Lloyd Wright, makes a hasty marriage, and has a child. Floundering, she reaches out to Peter, her first connection in America and, it seems, the only person she can genuinely count on.When their relationship becomes more than just professional, it unfolds under the eyes of her CIA minders, and Svetlana and Peter's private lives are no longer their own. The author's father was in fact the young lawyer who escorted the real Svetlana tothe United States. Based on his father's reminiscences as well as his own extensive research into Svetlana's life, John Burnham Schwartz recreates this dramatic story of a woman's search for a new life and a place to belong, in the evocative and imaginative prose that have made him a critically acclaimed, bestselling author of literary and historical fiction"--

Available copies

  • 11 of 12 copies available at Westchester Library System. (Show)
  • 1 of 1 copy available at New Rochelle Public Library System. (Show)
  • 1 of 1 copy available at New Rochelle Public Library.

Current holds

0 current holds with 12 total copies.
Location Call Number /
Shelving Location
Barcode Status /
Due Date
New Rochelle Public Library SCHWARTZ (Text)
Fiction
31019156233580
Available
-
Search Results Showing Item 1 of 69

Additional Resources